Posted in life skills, self development and motivation, Uncategorized

My hijab story..

Screenshot_2016-04-14-00-10-44-1

So many people think particularly same way about hijabees and niqabees. Like she must be oppressed or she must be under pressure of some man. When I travel by train I usually can see few eyes scanning me with disgust. Some of the people often get up from the seat beside me. Here I’m not talking about everyone. There are so many good and wise people out there as well. But generally,  it happens.

Screenshot_2016-04-14-00-11-07-1

I’m a hijabi and I want to tell my story. First of all, I’m not under pressure. Nobody ask me to do it.  I started doing it 4 years back. I was a normal teenager girl. I used to straighten up my hair everyday or make style. I used to wear skinny jeans and fitted tops. A good one hour in the morning I used to spend just on my appearance.

When I met my husband, I figured it out straight away that I’m not his type. He is a very religious man. We had an arranged marriage.  I was holding back but inside I was thinking I saw a lot of people before . I should give myself chance to get closer to Allah and choose my partner on the basis of religion.  So I decided to know him more.

When I talked to him I knew straight away that he is the one.  The way he talked to me the way he explain. The way he tell me about good things was just unbelievable.  So without wasting any time we went straight to tie the knots. He never asked me to wear hijab. But I know he gets annoyed with every glance at me by other men.

When I used to walk with him I had a feeling that I don’t match with the way he is.  He is so confident and being born in UK, he is so close to Allah.  I used to think what’s wrong with me. I born in muslim country and I couldn’t follow or be the way i should be.

Anyway, one day I was on YouTube and link to link ingot onto the hijab tutorial video. It was dina Tokio. So I pulled one of my scarf from my drawer and tried it on. There he saw me and said, ” you never looked this beautiful before” . He hugged me and didn’t say anything.

There I decided to wear it. The more I kept on wearing, the more I loved it. The challenging part was to wear it at work.  But I did. All of my colleagues was like. Do you really have to do it?  I think your husband is so strict on you… how can you keep this on whole day? The best one was. . Are you going to sleep with this on?? But with all these stupid questions, I never felt myself like that in my life before. I felt protected. I felt like a woman.

Screenshot_2016-04-14-00-10-00-1

This was my story and I’m still wearing it. I wear long gown as well now.

On the final note, I’m not judging other muslim sisters who don’t wear hijab. All sisters are respectful in my eyes no matter what they wear. The things I wrote was my thoughts and feelings.  Allah doesn’t give anyone authority to judge other people on these basis. So there must be some sisters who doesn’t wear hijab and they must be better than me.

Author:

I am a full time mum to 1 year old girl and expecting my second one this year. I did my masters in HRM from the University of East London and have worked for 3 years. Now everything went out of the window because the only thing I want to do is to be with my princess and give her all she needs and be there for her all the time. Spending my all time with her has really inspired me to write about my experiences and new things that I have learnt and still learning day by day. The only thing I can't get hold on to is the time. So I want to put my life and my ideas in words. I'm new to blogging and I would love to have feedback.

Leave a Reply

