Posted in baby health and wellness, development and learning for baby, Mummy's health and wellness

Growth spurt and sleep regression

 

Screenshot_2016-04-11-15-40-03-1

I am a first time mum of a baby girl, who’s 6 months. Those early days of newborn are gone and we started getting hang over everything. Things went so smooth that I decided to write a blog about my motherhood and my baby. My baby weaned well, have a routine of morning and daytime naps, sleeping 7 hours straight at night. Felt like I achieved what I wanted and going up one more level. And now boom.  Sudden change in sleep pattern and naps. Now I feel like a mombie.

When to expect growth spurt

Well motherhood is unpredictable and the joys of accomplishment didn’t last long. You must heard about ‘ growth spurt ‘. 6 weeks, 3 months, 6 months, 9 months and so on. I think she is having one.

All babies are different and their growth spurts are different as well. These are just estimate age where people observed their babies growing.  In fact, babies grow over night. Their growth spurt last for 3 days or a week.

She decided to teach me a lesson now. So on this stage this madam doesn’t like to sleep during day at all. Before I was just put her and she usually sleep for an hour two times a day on her own. Now she need feeding and rocking and patting and even after all that she wakes up after 15 minutes. On top of that she wants me to hold her all the time. All

Night time is the worst. After giving me those wonderful sleeps she started waking up every other hour . And now she doesn’t want to go back in her cot after feed. Yes. We are breastfeeding but we are not Co sleeping.

Other mums at baby group was having discussion about baby routines.  When I told them about my girl they were just amazed of how I done it. I became so confident. But now I am thinking what I’m doing wrong. Where I went wrong. Am I being overconfident.

My health visitor explained about growth spurt. What to look for? What to do? What are her needs right now? How to cope when baby is having a growth spurt.

Signs that your baby going through growth spurt

1. Feeding or eating more than usual

2. Sleeping regression  or hibernation.

3. When their clothes go smaller.

4. When they are fussier and need more comfort and cuddles.

5. There will be sudden increase in their weight and height.

Do’s and don’t

1. Do feed your baby whenever she wants. But don’t overfeed them when they start leaving or pushing out then stop.

2. Don’t link everything to growth spurt. It doesn’t accompany fever or rashes or any other illness. Always consult your pediatrician when you observe anything of concern.

3. Babies don’t understand their emotions and body changes and they get fussier. Feed them change them and check if their tummies are ok. Give them lots of cuddles and make them feel secure.

4. Do not wake your child up to feed. Unless your breasts are full and you have no option. Let them sleep. The more they sleep they grow.

5. Be there for your baby. Housework can be done once they are sleeping.

6. If they don’t let you sleep at night and keep waking up for feed, just feed them and keep patience. These days will pass soon.

Finally, I want to give support to all of you and tell you this is just a phase. I know it feels rrally frustrating sometimes and feels like you are stuck in this endless cycle but trust me when you look at your baby growing, you will forget about everything. One more thing that I was doing wrong.  I got too stuck up on making routine and staying on it. It’s not bad to follow your routine but if baby slips off then just allow it and stop blaming yourself.  Enjoy every stage.

Have a nice growth spurt.

Author:

I am a full time mum to 1 year old girl and expecting my second one this year. I did my masters in HRM from the University of East London and have worked for 3 years. Now everything went out of the window because the only thing I want to do is to be with my princess and give her all she needs and be there for her all the time. Spending my all time with her has really inspired me to write about my experiences and new things that I have learnt and still learning day by day. The only thing I can't get hold on to is the time. So I want to put my life and my ideas in words. I'm new to blogging and I would love to have feedback.

Leave a Reply

