Posted in baby health and wellness, Mummy's health and wellness

Breastfeeding to sleep and soothe baby

Screenshot_2016-03-17-12-44-23-1Babies are born with the instinct of sucking the breast . After birth the minute you put baby skin to skin, she starts feeding. It’s normal and it’s natural. If comfort nursing works for you and your family than nothing else matters at all.  When your baby grows few months older, people will start telling you to stop using feed as an association to sleep. Your kid needs to learn how to put himself to sleep on his own.

According to a research, sucking on breast releases a hormone called cholecystokinin (CCK) which makes both baby and mummy feeling relaxed and brings baby in sleep mode (Uvnas-Muberg et. Al 1993).

It’s important to teach your children good habits but it’s perfectly normal and healthy if your baby drift off on breast. It’s one of the developmental stage.

Babies usually wake up 2 to 3 times at night during their first year.  Some babies are just different they sleep through the night. There are no right or wrong rules or any successful methods.  Few things works for few babies and those same things won’t work on other babies. As time passes you will learn yourself what is more comforting for your baby.

My baby girl is about 6 months now and I trained her for sleeping as well. But she still drops off to sleep while feeding. I will write a post about how I trained her to sleep on her own. But for now I just want all the mothers to know to give your baby comfort. They feel close to you and they relax . Just think about it this way. Time flies when you have a baby and they wont be able to get the comfort and nourishment through breastfeed in their later life. So make the most of it and dont feel guilty . Even we as adults have associations to sleep like watching TV, reading book , scrolling through our smartphones and tablets.

Trust your baby and yourself.  There will be a time when your baby will go to sleep on his own. And then you will miss the closeness you had before. Just make the most of it.

I used to google a lot and i read a lot of articles about how to put baby to sleep , how to get them sleep through night, is comfort nursing good or bad. And all the mothers have these concerns. I can truly relate with that. But I learnt if that time someone came to me and reassure that this time is very little. My baby sleep through by God’s blessing .  She still wakes up once at night. But after a feed she goes back to sleep. It’s a natural developmental progression that she learnt when she was ready. And your baby will learn it too. Do not get frustrated and trust yor instinct. You are the mother and you are the whole world for your baby right now.  So be there for her .

Author:

I am a full time mum to 1 year old girl and expecting my second one this year. I did my masters in HRM from the University of East London and have worked for 3 years. Now everything went out of the window because the only thing I want to do is to be with my princess and give her all she needs and be there for her all the time. Spending my all time with her has really inspired me to write about my experiences and new things that I have learnt and still learning day by day. The only thing I can't get hold on to is the time. So I want to put my life and my ideas in words. I'm new to blogging and I would love to have feedback.

Leave a Reply

